North Carolina- adventurous getaway

I’m back!! I have returned from my wonderful trip to the mountains of North Carolina, and boy was it tough leaving there!  I always have a good time when I visit, but for some reason this trip made me fall in love, and I wish I could stay there forever.  Here are some of the highlights of my trip and I suggest anyone visiting the area should check these places out.

  • Soco Falls:  Located just as you enter the Blue Ridge Parkway, the Soco Falls trail is a great place to hike because it has good diversity in it’s uphill/downhill paths, and you get to see this amazing waterfall at the end!

  • Fontana Lake: This magnificent lake stretches about 30 miles or so and is perfect for kayaking, skiing, or even riding an aluminum boat and having to bail out water with plastic cups after hitting a wave from a speed boat. (That totally didn’t happen to me…).  Along the sides of the mountains is the most beautiful granite I have ever seen and luscious trees make for a gorgeous view!

  • Great Smokey Mountains National Park:  Take a drive through the Blue Ridge Parkway and stop along the way at the many gorgeous overlooks and travel through some cool tunnels.  The visitor center has a great trail along the Ocanaluftee River and a mini museum of the history of civilization in the Smokey Mountains.

  • Nantahala Outdoor Center:  One of the best white water rafting areas in the country!  My dad and I put on our wetsuits and ventured through the rapids in a small 2 seater kayak and actually survived the big falls at the end.

  • Downtown Asheville: This is probably one of the most eclectic and diverse cities I’ve ever been to.  There is so much life here from the young population of hippies and college students, to the extreme vegetarian/vegan friendliness, to the amazing music scene.  For me, the highlights were eating the most amazing pizza at the Mellow Mushroom, shopping for awesome tapestries/unique clothing, and spending hours people watching!

drum circle 

  • Lake Junaluska: Located just outside Maggie Valley, this lake is surrounded by the most beautiful mountains and is a great 3 or so mile circle to both bike and walk.  During the summer, they have the rose walk with thousands of roses to gush over.

I had the most amazing time visiting with my family!  From our many adventures, to eating awesome food and watching amazing views, I can surely say North Carolina is one of the most beautiful places on earth.

Y’ALL COME BACK NOW YA HEAR?

One thought on “North Carolina- adventurous getaway

Leave a Reply

