Chill Out, Dude

I am at the point of my life where so much is changing, and it seems as though every little event that happens and every decision I make, greatly affects and alters the next one.  We are growing up in a time where, through technology, we receive instant gratification with almost everything.  While that may be good in many ways where we can learn anything we want at the touch of a button, it also has produced a generation of people that expect everything in life to happen so quickly so that we can receive that “instant gratification.”  I am slowly learning that life just doesn’t work that way, and people sometimes forget that we must work hard to achieve our goals and that we must sometimes wait for good things to happen to us, or to get what we want.

The pressures of this super competitive, fast paced society makes myself, and I’m sure many others, very stressed and even nervous.  I feel as though I need to always be on the top of my game 24/7, and not a day goes by when I’m not worried about if I will get into a good med school, if I will ever find a husband, if I will be able to have kids before I am 40, or if there are more things I should be doing on top of all the activities I already do!  And then I thought to myself, how ridiculous do I sound! The fact that I know I am irrational at some points, yet continue to think them, then worries me even more.

I had a great conversation with my dad, and I realized that yes, while some stress is good and everyone should always be working towards being the best they can be, we can’t always be THE BEST one out there, life always works itself out, and we all just need to take a huge chill pill.  I think that we should revert to having a more simplistic outlook in the sense that we cannot control most of what will happen to us in the future, so we should just take life day by day and try to make each day a happy one.  It is silly to worry about all of these things, yet people do every day, and it inhibits us from seeing the big picture that everything will fall into place, it just takes time and that we need to learn to be a little patient.  So for now, work towards your main goal, whether that be your college degree or your career, establish yourself and be happy with your independence, and with that, everything else we want will follow and catch up with us, when it’s ready to happen.  It seems as though not as many people have hobbies anymore because we are so invested in working towards our future.  Find something that you enjoy and you will not believe the opportunities that can arise.  So with that, I will try to follow my own advice and just go with the flow because I think my mind shouldn’t feel so heavy!

One thought on “Chill Out, Dude

  1. You got the best out of the conversation with your Dad.
    The happiest people don’t necessarily have the best of everything; They just make the best of everything they have.

Leave a Reply

