We’re Bringing Hula Back

Now that my first year as a college student has come to an end, I can say that I have attended a decent number of clubs, concerts, and raves (almost an alliteration). What I have noticed though, is that at many of these events there is a certain popular childhood toy that is making a surprising comeback; hula-hoops!

These hula-hoops are not the dainty little hoops we used to use as children in contests:

These are the real deal; they are thicker and heavier with a lot of noisy beads inside, and most of them have either these psychedelic patterns or LED lights that paint the sky with vibrant colors as you spin them around.

It blows my mind that they make hula-hoops for adults; I don’t think you can get more awesome than that!  The first time I saw a woman with a glowing hula-hoop at a club, I thought it was extremely strange, but then she offered the hoop for me to try, and I suddenly discovered a brand new and fun way to jam out and dance to music!

Now, I don’t know how much these hula-hoops are, but I will definitely be investing some money to buy one in the near future, or I might even try a DIY and attempt to make my own.  I see these hula-hoops as a win-win situation; you have an awesome toy to shake your hips with, and if you bring them to parties, it’s a great way to make new friends!  So, with that being said, if you ever see these hula-hoops being used at a party or a concert, try them!  I guarantee you will find someone with one because they seem to be everywhere and I fully support this mainstreaming of hula-hoops.

Leave a Reply

